Freakonomics

Last night I attended a lecture and book signing by Stephen J. Dubner, the journalist half of the Freakonomics author team. His presentation at the University of Utah was part of ASUU’s “Grand Kerfuffle,” and our store provided the books for the signing, which was followed by a reception with live jazz music and hors d’ouerves. If anyone wants to know what a “kerfuffle” is, all I can say is it has something to do with Freakonomics, live jazz, and finger food! Dubner spoke about behavioral economics, which strikes me as a pretty fluid field. By adjusting the parameters of a basic experiment repeated with the same test group, one arrives at widely divergent conclusions when it comes to human behavior. Economics may be an exact science, but human behavior is anything but! It was an interesting (if under attended) lecture, and I’ve already started reading the signed copy of the book I bought yesterday. I’m always a proponent of alternate viewpoints, but that doesn’t mean I agree when an economist theorizes that Americans should be paying more for a gallon of gas than we do now!

2 Responses to “Freakonomics”

  1. Josh! I know you commute and all, but really? You don’t think we should be paying more for gas than we already do? Have you looked at gas prices in Europe? Maybe its because I was an economics major, but I would have to agree with Dubner on this one…

  2. I have to agree with Jaima. Why should I be subsidizing your gas prices when I don’t even drive?

Leave a Reply

