Brooklyn review

Here we have another novel about New York City, also written by an acclaimed author of Irish origin, also about an immigrant trying to find her place in the world. Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín takes place long before 9/11 and I read it prior to reading Netherland, but I am deliberately posting my reviews out-of-sequence. I was interested in the premise of this novel, a young woman departing her native Ireland for New York in the early 1950s. I was less interested in Eilis Lacey, the young woman it turned out to be.  I never found myself gripped by her predicament, so it didn’t matter by whom she was asked to dance on which night. When she suffered a major misfortune that necessitated her return to Ireland I was unmoved. For me the entire story flowed by like the placid water of that return trip rather than the choppy seas of her maiden voyage.

Leave a Reply

