Serious Series

I’ve been on a serious series binge lately. Not that the series I’ve been reading are serious (two are targeted for middle grade readers and all three are fantasy), but it’s unusual for me to go from one series to another in rapid succession. I have too many books on my to-read list to devote time to catch up on series I haven’t followed (thus I haven’t read The Wheel of Time even though it’s being completed by Brandon Sanderson).  I was able to intersperse my series reading with four unrelated books: Puttering About in a Small Land by Philip K. Dick, The Ground Beneath Her Feet by Salman Rushdie*, Cold Mountain by Charles Frazier, and Nabokov’s Butterfly by Rick Gekoski. In doing so I was able to make progress on my list while maintaining my interest level in the rich Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull (a Utah author), the high-octane Percy Jackson and the Olympians books by Rick Riordan, and books five through eight of The Runelords by David Farland (also a Utah author).

*Although unrelated, The Ground Beneath Her Feet originated from Greek mythology, like the Percy Jackson series, and it entails the collision of two parallel worlds, as does Worldbinder, book six of Runelords.

Leave a Reply

