Mastery

Reading The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear consecutively has set me back on my goal to read less and write more, but it has also taught me about the art of writing. In my slim adventure tale Orlando and Geoffrey there is a scene slightly similar to one in The Wise Man’s Fear. The chief difference between the two is that mine is only a passing scene, whereas for Rothfuss it is the payoff of long and arduous build up. There have been some grumblings about how long fans of The Name of the Wind had to wait for the even longer Wise Man’s Fear. I was not one of those long- suffering fans, although I now rue the wait for the conclusion of The Kingkiller Chronicle as well. I would surmise that those few individuals who voiced their displeasure are unaware that writing a thousand page book takes far more time than reading one. It can be a tedious grind to write page upon page of build up as opposed to simply skipping ahead to the exciting portions. What I see in Patrick Rothfuss is a serious dedication to storytelling. It’s a matter of craft, and he is a master of it.

While instructing Kvothe, Master Elodin provides an eloquent response to those who would press upon the author to rush ahead: “I am trying to wake your sleeping mind to the subtle language the world is whispering. I am trying to seduce you into understanding. I am trying to teach you. Quit grabbing at my tits.” I for one would prefer to learn what Rothfuss has to teach me!

Leave a Reply

