Below the Surface

I owe Charlene Brusso of Tachyon Publications for bringing Wonders of the Invisible World into my line of sight. I contacted her about getting an advance copy of The Emperor’s Soul, a new book by Brandon Sanderson, which she graciously sent me. Then she asked if I would like advances of two collections: Wonders of the Invisible World and Epic. I answered in the affirmative and she sent them along as well. I’m grateful for her suggestion, as I wouldn’t have picked them up otherwise. This cover art by Thomas Canty doesn’t grab me the same way the captivating cover of The Stress of Her Regard stopped me dead in my catalog-perusing tracks, but it is a lovely fit for these enchanting stories by Patricia A. McKillip. She’s a multiple-award winning author, but I must confess my ignorance of her writing until now. This isn’t the sort of book I would pick up in my own short-sightedness; it’s also the sort of magical realism I truly enjoy.  It’s the magic burbling up from the timeless wells deep under the earth. It’s the magic just below the surface of a painting or a pool. It’s the unseen magic of the ordinary that is more believable than the scientific explanation of a phenomenon. It’s the ancient magic of youth. It’s the magic of creation and curses. It’s the magic just beyond our view, and I’m glad to have caught a glimpse of it.

Leave a Reply

