Loss for Words

Week two of the write more/shave less challenge was a drop off from week one. I wrote on four days instead of five and wrote fewer words per day. As Brandon Sanderson and Mary Robinette Kowal stated on the Writing Excuses podcast, production tends to decline in the middle weeks. My word count for the week was 1680, which is an average day’s amount for NaNoWriMo. The goal is clearly out-of-reach at the halfway point, but I am not discouraged. I have only added 4200 words to my WIP this month, but I have added five new chapters over the past two months. That’s slower than NaNoWriMo pace, but it’s a significant increase over my usual pace! I’m getting into the habit of writing every day (although I missed a day last week), and that is helping to keep the story flowing. As for No Shave November, I haven’t missed a day!

Leave a Reply

