Drawn In

I was drawn to Epic: Legends of Fantasy by two names: Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss. I confess I was slightly disappointed to find that the selections from those two personal favorites were excerpts from novels I had already read, but their inclusion served its purpose well. I wasn’t familiar with the other works in the anthology, so this proved to be a great introduction. I wouldn’t have looked into Aliette de Bodard or Paolo Bacigalupi otherwise, and their stories stood out from this top notch collection. I really enjoyed the lead story by Robin Hobb, and it was good to read a story by Mary Robinette Kowal, one of the Writing Excuses podcasters. I also liked Melanie Rawn’s “Mother of All Russiya” and Kate Elliott’s “Riding the Shore of the River of Death.” I was drawn in by familiar authors, but what I’m taking away is that there plenty more fantasy writers, female fantasy writers in particular, with whom I ought to be more familiar.  As the editor John Joseph Adams states in the preface, “Epic fantasy has become the literature of more.” After reading this anthology I have to agree!

Leave a Reply

