Russian Dandelion

ImageI’ve read my share of Russian literature, but nothing quite like the stories of Ludmilla Petrushevskaya. She writes of the harsh everyday existence melded with just enough absurdity to make it palatable. These are stories of neglected young girls, wives, mothers, and widows looking for love in humble and inhospitable circumstances. The love they uncover is not redemptive, but it is enough to sustain them. They are making the best of a bad situation, but this isn’t an instance of taking lemons and making lemonade. This is trying to make Dandelion Root Tea from the Russian Dandelion, which is better suited for the production of rubber.

There Once Lived a Girl Who Seduced Her Sister’s Husband, and He Hanged Himself: Love Stories comes out today, and Penguin has provided me with a copy for a giveaway. See the previous post for an excerpt of the lead story, “A Murky Fate,” and leave a comment for a chance to win!

15 Responses to “Russian Dandelion”

  1. Read a review of this and it sounded facinating! I would love to win a copy.

  2. Great review! I can’t wait to read this! (thanks for the heads up!)

  3. Jessica Farrow Says:

    I’m very excited to read this book! I’ve a fondness for Russian writers since I took a Tolstoy class in my undergrad days.

  4. I love this author’s style so much. I wanted more and more of the excerpt! Thanks for commenting on my friend’s shelving of this book at Goodreads to let me know you were holding this giveaway – I’d absolutely love to win a copy.

  5. I would also love to win a copy!

  6. This book has been on my list to read for a little bit now. The reviews have been excellent and the description leaves me wanting more. I would love to win a copy!

  7. Absurd and harsh…I haven’t read anything Russian in a while. It would be a nice break from cotton candy, pastel colors, fluffy, fairy tale, delicate tones I am used to these days. I would love to win.

  8. I would love to read this too.

  9. I am so excited to read this. It sounds like the perfect title for my bookstore.

  10. This is on my to-read list already. Thanks for directing me to your blog through goodreads also.

  11. Thanks for pointing me to your blog. Seems like translation might (finally) be on the uptick in the American lit scene.

  12. I would like a copy.

  13. I read Petrushevskaya’s There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried to Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby a few years ago and have been eagerly awaiting her next book ever since. Thanks for hosting this giveaway!

  14. via GoodReads I learned this book was up for grabs. I’m excited to read it eventually – it’d be even nicer to read it for free!

Leave a Reply

