In the Cracks

spots of leopardsThe Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma is highly addictive for fans of literary fiction; it’s lit fic crack! I sped through it in a day and a half, but I absorbed it too quickly the first time so I had to start over and re-read it at a slower pace. As the unnamed narrator describes the work of another writer:

“It is the rare sort of book that resembles nothing else and yet somehow seems intensely familiar. From the first line you feel your own heart begin to beat differently. Once it’s over you want to begin it again.”

That is precisely my experience with this book. There is a great con going on here – our narrator is both unnamed and unreliable – but there is another level to this Inception-esque con at work. I was hooked so rapidly that I had a surreal sense of being hooked, as though Jansma had cracked the literary fiction formula and used it to cook up this new form of irresistible lit fic crack. I embraced the book so readily I wanted to throw it across the room! I might have done it had I been reading a typical advance copy, but I got this through netgalley (a first) and a touchscreen isn’t especially useful when it’s embedded in the drywall.

Somewhat like the three books our narrator has written, all of which have been lost. In an Author’s Note he explains that this book is pieced together from the remnants of those other books, and that in the empty space between them – in the cracks, as it were – is the truth.

23 Responses to “In the Cracks”

  1. I read a book by the name Bad Things Happen a few years ago that had a setting where a number of collaborative authors had a falling out and mayhem and murder soon followed. It was fun since there were a lot of literary jokes.

    It sounds like The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards is a fun read also—albeit with a few aggravations to spice the experience.

  2. How many times have I done this? I couldn’t count. When the text sweeps me away, I just go. I figure it was the author’s intention to make us read right through the book, then go back to
    Page 1 to savor it. I don’t mind. Looking forward to doing it again with Spots.

  3. Katie Brandano Cusick Says:

    I already wanted to read The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards. Now that I know it is fic lit crack, I am jonesing!

  4. This looks like a great book and I always enjoy being one of the first of people I know to read a good book and recommend it to people.

  5. Others have said they have fallen in love with this book. I love when that happens. I’m really looking forward to reading this and hope that happens to me.

  6. Natalie Soto Says:

    I am really looking forward to reading this! Love the title!

  7. I can’t wait to read this book! I’ve never so many good things!

  8. Beautiful recommendation. There’s little better than a contagiously intriguing book review that makes me want to quit my job and go get the novel in question at once.

  9. I can’t wait to red this book. the interview was so spot on and you didn’t mince words. It was about your reading and what influenced you. Glad to see and author give kudos to authors who have made an impact on them. Thank you.

  10. The reviews I have read for this book make it a must read on my list!

  11. Tyler Leigh Murphy Says:

    I have heard nothing but wonderful things about this book. It is definitely at the top of my “to-read” list.

  12. I’m super excited to read this book!!

  13. This book caught my eye from the first time I read the description. It sounds thought-provoking and psychological which are things I feel an amazing book must have. After reading your review, I am even more interested in picking up a copy. I’d like to see if my reaction is similar to yours – I can say there have been some (but very few) books that hit me the way this one appears to have hit you.

  14. Michele Gilbert Says:

    I’m looking forward very much to reading this book. It sounds intriguing and engrossing. I can’t wait to dive in!

  15. Wayne Johnson Says:

    Thanks for directing me to the blog. I’ve found some fantastic reading and future links. The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards sounds fantastic. Literary crack? Wow, how do you top that? More, I guess. I can’t wait to start. Thanks for all your work getting this ‘out there.’

  16. Jodi Gradolph Says:

    I love to read and this book captured my interest . There’s nothing better than starting a new book.

  17. You had me at “lit fiction crack.” Your review makes this book THAT MUCH more intriguing to me. Thanks for the insight.

  18. I enjoyed your review & am even more interested to read it now. I also enjoyed your interview with Jansma and the insights into how he fits in his writing amongst the rest of his busy life. I’d love to win a copy and jump into it!

  19. I can’t wait to read this.

  20. The reviews for this book sound amazing. I’ve been known to devour books in a day and I can’t wait to see if this is one of those for me.

  21. Awesome! Can’t wait to read it!

  22. I cannot wait to read this book! 😀

  23. […] review was previously posted on 3/21/13; an interview with the author was also posted on […]

Leave a Reply

