A Bridge Too Far

ImageLet’s get on with reviewing a few of the new releases from May, all right? The One-Way Bridge by Cathie Pelletier was a change of pace for me. I hadn’t read her other books centered around life in Mattagash, but I had visited a small town up north when I was in Maine. This particular tale of two men coming to loggerheads on a one-way bridge isn’t peculiar; it hums softly with authenticity and sincerity.

Vader's Little Princess The sequel to Vader and Son came out in April, but I read it in May. It’s a prescient portrayal of a princess going through a rebellious phase! My personal favorite is the sequence where Leia is mortified to be dropped off at school in her dad’s AT-AT. Vader’s harsh treatment of Han Solo is more meaningful when he’s attempting to keep the scoundrel away from his little princess!

Golem and the Jinni Helene Wecker’s debut novel The Golem and the Jinni (another April release) held immense appeal for me. I admired the book’s design, with its midnight blue edge painting, and the book’s premise, with two old world wonders meeting in the new world. I’m enthralled by supernatural thralls such as golems and jinn. I was somewhat disappointed by their Data-like desire to pass as human in this story. The golem is created to look human and react to human desires, and had no presence of mind until her master awakened her. Whereas the jinni is trapped in human form, but had an expansive existence prior to his enslavement. Wecker writes wonderful human characters, like Ice Cream Saleh, and I’d be content to read more about their experiences as immigrants in New York in 1899. Her supernatural creatures, the jinni especially, exhibited more human nature than I anticipated.

Leave a Reply

