Double Up

LeopardsViking is allowing me to do another giveaway for Kristopher Jansma’s The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards, this time in paperback! I have re-posted my review – leave a comment to be entered in the random drawing.

While I am holding a second giveaway for one of my favorite books of 2013, I will simultaneously have a giveaway for a new release from Penguin! Stayed tuned for that review, as you will need to comment on it separately to be entered in both drawings; they will both close on Friday, February 28th.

(This review was previously posted on 3/21/13; an interview with the author was also posted on 3/18/13)

The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma is highly addictive for fans of literary fiction; it’s lit fic crack! I sped through it in a day and a half, but I absorbed it too quickly the first time so I had to start over and re-read it at a slower pace. As the unnamed narrator describes the work of another writer:

“It is the rare sort of book that resembles nothing else and yet somehow seems intensely familiar. From the first line you feel your own heart begin to beat differently. Once it’s over you want to begin it again.”

That is precisely my experience with this book. There is a great con going on here – our narrator is both unnamed and unreliable – but there is another level to this Inception-esque con at work. I was hooked so rapidly that I had a surreal sense of being hooked, as though Jansma had cracked the literary fiction formula and used it to cook up this new form of irresistible lit fic crack. I embraced the book so readily I wanted to throw it across the room! I might have done it had I been reading a typical advance copy, but I got this through netgalley (a first) and a touchscreen isn’t especially useful when it’s embedded in the drywall.

Somewhat like the three books our narrator has written, all of which have been lost. In an Author’s Note he explains that this book is pieced together from the remnants of those other books, and that in the empty space between them – in the cracks, as it were – is the truth.

9 Responses to “Double Up”

  1. Great review, nice cover.

  2. Benjamin Woodcock Says:

    This is one of the books that came out last year that I forgot to read. Well not so much forgot, I just never got around to requesting it from the library.

  3. Anne Grech Says:

    I’ve yet to read “The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards” but am very interested. Please enter me in the drawing

    • jaclemens Says:

      Congratulations, Anne! If you would send me your mailing address I will have your copy sent out.

  4. Thanks for alerting me to this giveaway since I have had this on my TBR for a while now! I love that you describe this as “lit fic crack” … what’s not to like? 🙂

  5. thanks for doing another giveaway! can’t wait for your review.

  6. Thanks so much for the giveaway. This has been on my to read list for awhile now and I’m looking forward to it 🙂
    Great blog and thanks again,
    Gayla

  7. I have wanted to read this book for awhile and your review makes me even more intrigued!

  8. Ally Durian Says:

    This book has been on my to-read list for a while and your review has made me more intrigued to read it! Thank you for letting me know about the give away via goodreads!

Leave a Reply

